When you switch to the annual plan, your subscription changes to the annual plan at that moment and the annual plan fee is charged. The remaining part of the monthly plan you already paid for is adjusted by Google Play's subscription system so that it is not wasted.
You can check the billing details after the change in the Google Play Store app: tap your profile icon at the top right → "Payments & subscriptions" → "Subscriptions".